Committees and Chairs

Join One of These Committees

The Trash & Bash Committee regularly schedules a clean-up of SAEMS' adopted highway mile on I-10, with lunch afterward. Wildcat dump and other clean-ups are also scheduled.

The RCRA Committee and P2 Committee Chairs organize and conduct educational seminars. They orchestrate the annual RCRA seminar, and occasional P2 seminar, with proceeds going directly into the scholarship fund. SAEMS also teams with government agencies to provide education to the community.

The Education Committee oversees the yearly scholarships awarded to university students pursuing environmental studies. They promote the scholarship contest at local schools and review the applications.

Please contact the appropriate committee chairperson for information on meetings and events.

*Reimbursement Form

SAEMS Committee Chairs





Derek Koller and Pat Hartshorne

Trash & Bash




Derek Sizemore

Other Cleanups






BJ Cordova

Science Fair




SAEMS Historian


Derek Koller

SAEMS Volunteer of the Year

In honor of SAEMS members that have made significant contributions of their time, the Executive Committee nominates a Volunteer of the Year, who then receives their award at the Annual Meeting in June. Here is a list of those volunteers that have received this award:

2010 – Barb Ricca
2011 – Lisa Cuestas
2012 – Cat Schladweiler
2013 – BJ Cordova
2014 – Heather Shoemaker
2015 – Frank Bonillas
2016 – Ken Asch
2017 – Lisa Cuestas and Derek Koller

SAEMS, P.O.Box 41433, Tucson, AZ 85717                                                                                                                                ·disclaimer